Pennsylvania System of School Assessment PSSA

The Pennsylvania System of School Assessment (PSSA) is a standardized test administered to public schools in the state of Pennsylvania. Students in grades 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 11 are assessed in reading skills and mathematics. Students in grades 5, 8, and 11 are assessed in writing skills. Students in grades 4, 8, 11 will also be assessed in skills relating to natural science, primarily in the field of data interpretation and analysis. There are reporting categories for each subject which list eligible content to be tested in each grade. Assessment Anchors specify what is considered eligible content for each grade level tested. A Proficient or Advanced level is needed to be able to qualify as passing the PSSA. The PSSA applies to ALL schools and districts and is based on PA standards and content expectations. The goal is to have 100% of students proficient or above in reading and math by 2014. There are four levels on which a student may score: advanced, proficient, basic, and below basic. The Pennsylvania Department of Education defines the four levels as follows.
Share on Google Plus

About Sundar Mano

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment


Post a Comment